The Phases of the Interstellar Medium in the Milky Way

  • Our Team

  • Prof. Jürgen Stutzki (PI, PH1)
  • Cristian Guevara Navea (PH1)
  • Dr. Ronan Higgins (PH1)
  • Slawa Kabanovic (PH1)
  • Dr. Yoko Okada (PH1)
  • Sümeyye Suri (PH1)

Überblick

„Die Frage, wie sich Molekülwolken bilden, aus denen Sterne entstehen, ist zentraler Teil im kosmischen Kreislauf des Vergehens und Werdens.“

Projekt A4 untersucht die Eigenschaften der Molekülwolken in der Milchstraße, in denen Sterne entstehen. Die Arbeiten in A4 haben das Ziel, die detaillierten physikalischen und chemischen Prozesse im lokalen interstellaren Medium zu verstehen, wo die hohe lineare Auflösung, die hier erreicht werden kann, zusammen mit der spektralen Auflösung, es erlaubt, die individuellen Komponenten der Wolken mit ihren spezifischen Eigenschaften und ihrer spezifischen Umgebung zu separieren und getrennt zu beobachten. Großräumige Kartierungen erlauben es, die Wolkeneigenschaften und deren Variation über große räumliche Skalen zu charakterisieren. Diese Untersuchungen des lokalen interstellaren Medium sind eine wesentliche Voraussetzung, die physikalischen Eigenschaften der sternbildenden Molekülwolken zu verstehen; sie erlauben es, die Modellrechnungen zu kalibrieren, ohne über einen großen Bereich an Eigenschaften und über verschiedene Wolkenkomponenten zu mitteln. Sie bilden damit die Basis für die Interpretation von extragalaktischen Beobachtungen bis hinaus zu großen Rotverschiebungen, d.h. Galaxien im frühen Universum, wo die Beobachtungen nur Linien-integrierte Intensitäten und Intensitätsverhältnisse ermitteln können, die über ganze Sternentstehungskomplexe oder sogar über ganze Galaxien gemittelt werden.

Wir nutzen im Teilprojekt A4 insbesondere die einzigartigen Beobachtungsmöglichkeiten aus, die mit dem upGREAT/4GREAT Instrument auf SOFIA gegeben sind. Dies schließt großräumige Kartierungen der Feinstrukturlinie von ionisierten Kohlenstoff, [CII] 158 μm, und den beiden Feinstrukturlinien von atomarem Kohlenstoff, [OI] 63 und 145 μm, ein, die die wichtigsten Kühllinien des Sternentstehungs-aktiven interstellaren Mediums sind. Die bisherigen Beobachtungen haben gezeigt, des Geschwindigkeits-aufgelöste Linienprofile viele unerwartete Komponenten zeigen, sodass die Standardmodelle und einfache Szenarien, die üblicherweise zur Interpretation der beobachteten Linienintensitäten herangezogen werden, nicht zutreffen. Die Abdeckung eines breiten Spektrums von Quellen mit verschiedener Morphologie und astrophysikalischen Eigenschaften, wie sie in Teilprojekt A4 betrieben wird, ist nötig, um die verschiedenen Beiträge der Wolkenkomponenten längs der Sichtlinie, die Eigenschaften des Gases im Vordergrund und die Variation der Emissionseigenschaften über die verschiedenen Entwicklungszustände der Wolken mit aktiver Sternentstehung zu verstehen. Die Ferninfrarot-Daten von SOFIA werden mit komplementären Daten ergänzt, gewonnen an bodengebundenen Observatorien: im mm-Wellenbereich die niedrigen Rotationsübergange von Kohlenmonoxid, CO und dessen Isotopen, die in den kühlen Wolkenkernen emittiert werden. Im submm-Bereich die Emission aus den sogenannten Photonen-dominierten Regionen (PDRs) an den UV-beleuchteten Wolkenoberflächen, einerseits in den höher angeregten CO-Rotationsübergängen und andererseits in den Feinstrukturlinien von neutralem, atomaren Kohlenstoff ([CI] 370 und 609 μm).

In der zweiten Hälfte der kommenden Förderperiode wird das neue CCAT-prime Teleskop mit dem CHAI Empfänger (entwickelt und gebaut im Projektbereich D des SFB 956) die Beobachtungsmöglichkeiten im submm-Bereich wegen der exzellenten atmosphärischen Bedingungen an dem extrem hoch gelegenen Standort auf dem Gipfel des Cerro Chajnantor, Chile, auf 5600 m Höhe, wesentlich erweitern, insbesondere für die [CI]-Linien. Die geplante Erweiterung von 4GREAT auf einen 28 μm-Kanal wird es zum ersten Mal ermöglichen, die Grundzustandslinie des häufigsten Moleküls im Weltall, H2 J=2 → 0, mit voller spektraler Auflösung zu beobachten.

Mit den detaillierten Beobachtungen von ganzen Sternentstehungskomplexen und von individuellen Wolkenkernen in der Milchstraße stellt das Projekt A4 das untere Ende der Größenskalen dar, in denen der SFB 956 die Sternentstehung untersucht. Die detaillierten Beobachtungen, die in der Milchstraße möglich sind, legen die Abhängigkeit der beobachtbaren Linienintensitäten der Sternentstehungswolken in verschiedenen Umgebungen und Entwicklungsstadien fest. Sie bilden damit die Basis für die Interpretation der globalen Emission von externen Galaxien im nahen und fernen Universum in größerer Entfernung (A1, A3). Die detaillierten Beobachtungen geben wichtige Rahmenbedingungen für die Modellierung in den Projekten C5 und C6 vor: die Relevanz der Feedback-Mechanismen und wie diese die physikalischen Bedingungen und die Struktur der Molekülwolken, in denen die Sterne entstehen, beeinflussen, und ebenso die Gültigkeit der notwendigerweise vereinfachenden Modellannahmen müssen durch den Vergleich mit den Beobachtungsdaten bestimmt werden. In gleicher Weise ist die Zusammenarbeit mit Projekt C1 notwendig, um die PDR-Modelle durch Vergleich mit den Beobachtungsdaten zu „kalibrieren“. Die einzigartigen Beobachtungsmöglichkeiten mit SOFIA im Ferninfrarot-Spektralbereich für großräumige Kartierungen in den Feinstrukturlinien und in Absorptionsmessungen des interstellaren Mediums längs der Sichtlinien werden durch die instrumentellen Entwicklungen im Projektbereich D und im Projekt S ermöglicht.

Ausgewählte Publikationen


In 2017

C. Glück, J. Stutzki, M. Röllig, E. Chambers, and C. Risacher, “SOFIA/GREAT [CII] observations in nearby clouds near the lines of sight towards B0355+508 and B0212+735”, A&A 600, A94 (2017)

J. Harju, O. Sipilä, S. Brünken, S. Schlemmer, P. Caselli, M. Juvela, K. Menten, J. Stutzki, O. Asvany, T. Kamiński, Y. Okada, and R. Higgins, “Detection of Interstellar Ortho-D 2 H + with SOFIA”, ApJ 840, 63 (2017)

Z. Nagy, Y. Choi, V. Ossenkopf-Okada, F. van der Tak, E. Bergin, M. Gerin, C. Joblin, M. Röllig, R. Simon, and J. Stutzki, “Herschel/HIFI spectral line survey of the Orion Bar. Temperature and density differentiation near the PDR surface”, A&A 599, A22 (2017)

C. H. M. Pabst, J. R. Goicoechea, D. Teyssier, O. Berné, B. B. Ochsendorf, M. G. Wolfire, R. D. Higgins, D. Riquelme, C. Risacher, J. Pety, F. Le Petit, E. Roueff, E. Bron, and A. G. G. M. Tielens, “[C II] emission from L1630 in the Orion B molecular cloud”, A&A 606, A29 (2017)

In 2016
A. Breier, T. Büchling, R. Schnierer, V. Lutter, G. Fuchs, K. Yamada, B. Mookerjea, J. Stutzki, and T. Giesen, “Lowest bending mode of 13 C-substituted C 3 and an experimentally derived structure”,
J. Chem. Phys. 145, 234302 (2016)

H. Wiesemeyer, R. Güsten, S. Heyminck, H. Hübers, K. Menten, D. Neufeld, H. Richter, R. Simon, J. Stutzki, B. Winkel, and F. Wyrowski, “Far-infrared study of tracers of oxygen chemistry in diffuse clouds”, A&A 585, A76 (2016)

In 2015
J. Goicoechea, D. Teyssier, M. Etxaluze, P. Goldsmith, V. Ossenkopf, M. Gerin, E. Bergin, J. Black, J. Cernicharo, S. Cuadrado, P. Encrenaz, E. Falgarone, A. Fuente, A. Hacar, D. Lis, N. Marcelino, G. Melnick, H. Müller, C. Persson, J. Pety, M. Röllig, P. Schilke, R. Simon, R. Snell, and J. Stutzki, “Velocity-resolved [CII] Emission and [CII]/FIR Mapping along Orion with Herschel”, ApJ 812, 75 (2015)

V. Ossenkopf, E. Koumpia, Y. Okada, B. Mookerjea, F. F. S. van der Tak, R. Simon, P. Pütz, and R. Güsten, “Fine-structure line deficit in S 140”, A&A 580, A83 (2015)

J. Pérez-Beaupuits, J. Stutzki, V. Ossenkopf, M. Spaans, R. Güsten, and H. Wiesemeyer, “Detection of a large fraction of atomic gas not associated with star-forming material in M17 SW”, A&A 575, A9 (2015)

In 2014
Beuther, H, Ragan, SE, Ossenkopf, V, Glover, S, Henning, T, Linz, H, Nielbock, M, Krause, O, Stutzki, J, Schilke, P, and Güsten, R, “Carbon in different phases ([CII], [CI], and CO) in infrared dark clouds: Cloud formation signatures and carbon gas fractions”. A&A 571, A53 (2014 [Corrigendum)”, A&A 574, C2 (2015)]

Brünken, S, Sipilä, O, Chambers, ET, Harju, J, Caselli, P, Asvany, O, Honingh, CE, Kaminski, T, Menten, KM, Stutzki, J, and Schlemmer, S.. “H2D+ observations give an age of at least one million years for a cloud core forming Sun-like stars”, Nature 516, pp. 219–221 (2014)

In 2013
Burton, M.G., C. Braiding, C. Glueck, P. Goldsmith, J. Hawkes, D.J. Hollenbach, et al., The Mopra Southern Galactic Plane CO Survey. PASA, 2013, 30.

Carlhoff, P., Nguyen, O., Schilke, P., et al., Large scale IRAM 30 m CO-observations in the giant molecular cloud complex W43, A&A, 2013, 560, 24.

Stutzki, J., Graf, U.U., Simon, R., Colgan, S.W.J., Guan, X., Güsten, R:, Honingh, C.E., Large column densities and [12 CII] 158 μm self-absorption in Orion B, 2013, IAU Symp. 292, 57

In 2012
Graf, U.U., R. Simon, J.M. Stutzki, S.W.J. Colgan, X. Guan, R. Güsten, et al., [12 CII] and [13 CII] 158 μm emission from NGC 2024: Large column densities of ionized carbon. A&A, 2012, 542, L16.

Mookerjea, B., V. Ossenkopf, O. Ricken, R. Gusten, U.U. Graf, K. Jacobs, et al., The structure of hot gas in Cepheus B. A&A, 2012, 542.

Okada, Y., R. Gusten, M.A. Requena-Torres, M. Rollig, P. Hartogh, H.W. Hubers, et al., Dynamics and photodissociation region properties in IC 1396A. A&A, 2012, 542.

Perez-Beaupuits, J.P., H. Wiesemeyer, V. Ossenkopf, J. Stutzki, R. Gusten, R. Simon, et al., The ionized and hot gas in M17 SW SOFIA/GREAT THz observations of [C II] and (CO)-C-12 J=13-12. A&A, 2012, 542.

Simon, R., N. Schneider, J. Stutzki, R. Güsten, U.U. Graf, P. Hartogh, et al., SOFIA observations of S106: dynamics of the warm gas, A&A, 2012, 542, L12.

The Phases of the Interstellar Medium in the Milky Way

  • Our Team

  • Prof. Jürgen Stutzki (PI, PH1)
  • Cristian Guevara Navea (PH1)
  • Dr. Ronan Higgins (PH1)
  • Slawa Kabanovic (PH1)
  • Dr. Yoko Okada (PH1)
  • Sümeyye Suri (PH1)

A short overview

Project A4 studies the properties of star forming clouds in the Milky Way. These studies of the local ISM enable the detailed investigation of the clouds physics and chemistry, as they allow to resolve individual source components with their specific properties and environmental factors. Large mapping allows to study the cloud properties over any spatial scales. These local studies are essential in order to fully understand the physical processes and to calibrate the modeling tools without averaging over different source components with a large range of properties. They form the basis for using the observed source averaged line intensity ratios and line/continuum ratios in nearby and far-out galaxies, averaged over whole star formation complexes in nearby galaxies and over whole galactic disks at large distances, as an astrophysical tools.

We focus on exploiting the unique possibilities that upGREAT/4GREAT offer on-board SOFIA. This includes large scale mapping of [CII] in different sources, but in particular mapping of [OI] in both the 63 μm and 145 μm transition. Both the [CII] 158 μm and [OI] 63 μm lines are the strongest cooling lines of the star forming ISM. The previous results have shown, that the velocity resolved line profiles show many unexpected features which imply, that the standard models and simple scenarios used to derive ISM properties from their integrated line intensities and intensity ratios are not applicable. The broader coverage of sources with different properties and morphology will be necessary to disentangle the various ISM components along the line of sight, to better understand the nature of the foreground gas affecting the emission, and to follow the variation of the line emission along the different evolutionary stages of the sources. The FIR-SOFIA data will be complemented by ground-based observations in the mm-wave (low-J) and submm-wave (mid-J) CO lines tracing the cloud cores and PDR surfaces, and in particular the [CI] fine structure lines. For the second half of the coming funding period onward, the new CCAT-prime telescope with the CHAI receiver will significantly improve the submm-mapping, in particular in the [CI] fine structure lines due to the excellent atmospheric conditions at CCAT-prime’s high site. The 28 μm extension of 4GREAT will, for the first time, allow fully velocity-resolved observations in the ground-state line of the most abundant molecular in space, H2, namely the J = 2 → 0 quadrupole transition.

With the detailed observations of star forming cloud complexes and individual cloud cores in the Milky Way, project A4 (together with A6) presents the “low” end of the sequence of scales at which the CRC 956 studies star formation. The detailed observations possible in the Milky Way are important to constrain the dependence of the observable line strengths of star forming clouds in different environments. They give the basis on which the global emission from star forming complexes and whole galaxies at larger distance (A1, A2) can be interpreted. The large scale mapping projects provide important input for the modeling projects  C5 and C6: the relevance of the feedback mechanisms studied there and how they shape the clouds in which the stars formed, as well as validity of the modeling approximation, need to be judged by the comparison with observational data. Similarly, the interaction with C1 is essential in order to “calibrate” the PDR-modeling tool by comparing the predicted and observed variation with physical cloud parameters. The unique observation opportunities provided by the SOFIA FIR-fine-structure line mapping and line-of-sight absorption studies are enabled by the instrumentation development in project area D and project S.

Selected Publications


 

In 2017
C. Glück, J. Stutzki, M. Röllig, E. Chambers, and C. Risacher, “SOFIA/GREAT [CII] observations in nearby clouds near the lines of sight towards B0355+508 and B0212+735”, A&A 600, A94 (2017)

J. Harju, O. Sipilä, S. Brünken, S. Schlemmer, P. Caselli, M. Juvela, K. Menten, J. Stutzki, O. Asvany, T. Kamiński, Y. Okada, and R. Higgins, “Detection of Interstellar Ortho-D 2 H + with SOFIA”, ApJ 840, 63 (2017)

Z. Nagy, Y. Choi, V. Ossenkopf-Okada, F. van der Tak, E. Bergin, M. Gerin, C. Joblin, M. Röllig, R. Simon, and J. Stutzki, “Herschel/HIFI spectral line survey of the Orion Bar. Temperature and density differentiation near the PDR surface”, A&A 599, A22 (2017)

C. H. M. Pabst, J. R. Goicoechea, D. Teyssier, O. Berné, B. B. Ochsendorf, M. G. Wolfire, R. D. Higgins, D. Riquelme, C. Risacher, J. Pety, F. Le Petit, E. Roueff, E. Bron, and A. G. G. M. Tielens, “[C II] emission from L1630 in the Orion B molecular cloud”, A&A 606, A29 (2017)

In 2016
A. Breier, T. Büchling, R. Schnierer, V. Lutter, G. Fuchs, K. Yamada, B. Mookerjea, J. Stutzki, and T. Giesen, “Lowest bending mode of 13 C-substituted C 3 and an experimentally derived structure”,
J. Chem. Phys. 145, 234302 (2016)

H. Wiesemeyer, R. Güsten, S. Heyminck, H. Hübers, K. Menten, D. Neufeld, H. Richter, R. Simon, J. Stutzki, B. Winkel, and F. Wyrowski, “Far-infrared study of tracers of oxygen chemistry in diffuse clouds”, A&A 585, A76 (2016)

In 2015
J. Goicoechea, D. Teyssier, M. Etxaluze, P. Goldsmith, V. Ossenkopf, M. Gerin, E. Bergin, J. Black, J. Cernicharo, S. Cuadrado, P. Encrenaz, E. Falgarone, A. Fuente, A. Hacar, D. Lis, N. Marcelino, G. Melnick, H. Müller, C. Persson, J. Pety, M. Röllig, P. Schilke, R. Simon, R. Snell, and J. Stutzki, “Velocity-resolved [CII] Emission and [CII]/FIR Mapping along Orion with Herschel”, ApJ 812, 75 (2015)

V. Ossenkopf, E. Koumpia, Y. Okada, B. Mookerjea, F. F. S. van der Tak, R. Simon, P. Pütz, and R. Güsten, “Fine-structure line deficit in S 140”, A&A 580, A83 (2015)

J. Pérez-Beaupuits, J. Stutzki, V. Ossenkopf, M. Spaans, R. Güsten, and H. Wiesemeyer, “Detection of a large fraction of atomic gas not associated with star-forming material in M17 SW”, A&A 575, A9 (2015)

In 2014
Beuther, H, Ragan, SE, Ossenkopf, V, Glover, S, Henning, T, Linz, H, Nielbock, M, Krause, O, Stutzki, J, Schilke, P, and Güsten, R, “Carbon in different phases ([CII], [CI], and CO) in infrared dark clouds: Cloud formation signatures and carbon gas fractions”. A&A 571, A53 (2014 [Corrigendum)”, A&A 574, C2 (2015)]

Brünken, S, Sipilä, O, Chambers, ET, Harju, J, Caselli, P, Asvany, O, Honingh, CE, Kaminski, T, Menten, KM, Stutzki, J, and Schlemmer, S.. “H2D+ observations give an age of at least one million years for a cloud core forming Sun-like stars”, Nature 516, pp. 219–221 (2014)

In 2013
Burton, M.G., C. Braiding, C. Glueck, P. Goldsmith, J. Hawkes, D.J. Hollenbach, et al., The Mopra Southern Galactic Plane CO Survey. PASA, 2013, 30.

Carlhoff, P., Nguyen, O., Schilke, P., et al., Large scale IRAM 30 m CO-observations in the giant molecular cloud complex W43, A&A, 2013, 560, 24.

Stutzki, J., Graf, U.U., Simon, R., Colgan, S.W.J., Guan, X., Güsten, R:, Honingh, C.E., Large column densities and [12 CII] 158 μm self-absorption in Orion B, 2013, IAU Symp. 292, 57

In 2012
Graf, U.U., R. Simon, J.M. Stutzki, S.W.J. Colgan, X. Guan, R. Güsten, et al., [12 CII] and [13 CII] 158 μm emission from NGC 2024: Large column densities of ionized carbon. A&A, 2012, 542, L16.

Mookerjea, B., V. Ossenkopf, O. Ricken, R. Gusten, U.U. Graf, K. Jacobs, et al., The structure of hot gas in Cepheus B. A&A, 2012, 542.

Okada, Y., R. Gusten, M.A. Requena-Torres, M. Rollig, P. Hartogh, H.W. Hubers, et al., Dynamics and photodissociation region properties in IC 1396A. A&A, 2012, 542.

Perez-Beaupuits, J.P., H. Wiesemeyer, V. Ossenkopf, J. Stutzki, R. Gusten, R. Simon, et al., The ionized and hot gas in M17 SW SOFIA/GREAT THz observations of [C II] and (CO)-C-12 J=13-12. A&A, 2012, 542.

Simon, R., N. Schneider, J. Stutzki, R. Güsten, U.U. Graf, P. Hartogh, et al., SOFIA observations of S106: dynamics of the warm gas, A&A, 2012, 542, L12.